Submit your own Neatorama post and vote for others' posts to earn NeatoPoints that you can redeem for T-shirts, hoodies and more over at the NeatoShop!

2016 Name of the Year Tournament

The Name of the Year Tournament is back! A bracket of 64 names has been set, and they will compete against each other until a winner is declared sometime in the future. All 64 are new to the tournament, and all are legal names. The number one seeds are Tilmann Buttersack, Gaylord Gumbie, Pope McCorkle III, and Shuntavyious Primes-Willes. Whether they can last through competition with Daystar Smallboy, DiCaprio Bootle, Oozi Cats, Onno Hoes, and Burm Snart is anyone’s guess.

…past, present, and future accomplishments play only a small role, if any. What matters more is the look of each name’s particular arrangement; its sound (we suggest our readers say all these names out loud before passing judgement); its rhythm, cadence, and meter; the power of the whole created by its two (or more) parts; and a host of other technical factors that can improve the quality of a name without the merits of the individual attached to it ever coming into play.

If you can’t see the names on this bracket, they are much larger at Deadspin. Voting will start soon at Name of the Year. -via Digg

Login to comment.

Email This Post to a Friend
"2016 Name of the Year Tournament"

Separate multiple emails with a comma. Limit 5.


Success! Your email has been sent!

close window

This website uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using this website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

I agree
Learn More