Four Seasons, More or Less

Science writer Ferris Jabr talks about seasons. We in the temperate zones learn there are four: winter, spring, summer, and autumn. But tropical regions have only rainy and dry seasons. And polar regions have only light and dark seasons. Once you get past those simple calendars, different cultures mark the passing of seasons in many different ways. And even here in the US, people are very aware of microseasons, particularly mud season between winter and true spring.   

Read the discussion with contributions from all over the world at Twitter. You'll find more thoughts on the matter at Kottke.

Newest 1
Newest 1 Comment

Login to comment.

Email This Post to a Friend
"Four Seasons, More or Less"

Separate multiple emails with a comma. Limit 5.


Success! Your email has been sent!

close window

This website uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using this website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

I agree
Learn More