Eight New Natural Wonders

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has named eight new natural wonders to the World Heritage List. They are:
* Joggins Fossil Cliffs (Canada)
* Mount Sanqingshan National Park (China)
* Lagoons of New Caledonia: Reef Diversity and Associated Ecosystems (France)
* Surtsey (Iceland)
* Saryarka - Steppe and Lakes of Northern Kazakhstan (Kazakhstan)
* Monarch Butterfly Biosphere Reserve (Mexico)
* Swiss Tectonic Arena Sardona (Switzerland)
* Socotra Archipelago (Yemen)

Live Science has the story, with links to more information on each. Pictured are the lagoons of New Caledonia, France. Link -via Geek Like Me

(image credit: IUCN/Dan Laffoley)

Newest 3
Newest 3 Comments

Have these 'wonders' collections evolved beyond tourism ploys yet?

Honestly, I hold these things in the same light as the world's larget ball of twine.

Lastly, putting lists like these only send droves of people to the area where it becomes overused and ruins the very thing you were trying to highlight.

Save nature! Stay inside and play videogames. ^____^
Abusive comment hidden. (Show it anyway.)
Login to comment.

Email This Post to a Friend
"Eight New Natural Wonders"

Separate multiple emails with a comma. Limit 5.


Success! Your email has been sent!

close window

This website uses cookies.

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using this website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

I agree
Learn More